Back to Discography

Discography > Noon

Released 2020-08-28

# Song
1 Flat Top
2 Eight Miles High
3 I Am Random
4 Noon to Noon
5 From The Cradle To The Grave
6 How Many People Are You
7 Ants
8 Sheets
9 Alphabet Street
10 Peel
11 The Only One

Noon is the new studio album from acoustic guitar pioneer Leo Kottke and Mike Gordon and their first in 15 years, joining Clone and 66 Steps. It is available for pre-order now (including a Limited Edition exclusive vinyl pressing) and will be available digitally August 28th and in stores November 20th. Listen to “Ants” and “I Am Random” from the record here.

The album was recorded in New Orleans and various parts of Vermont, with music exchanged between the two artists by file, tape-sealed boombox, sheet music, and face-to-face. Kottke and Gordon have crafted a singular collection of improvisational mood music, including a stripped-back version of Gordon’s classic “Peel” and Kottke’s stark rethinking of the Byrds’ “Eight Miles High.” 

Noon includes Phish drummer Jon Fishman on five tracks. The record also includes nearly ambient appearances by pedal steel player Brett Lanier (The Barr Brothers) and cellist Zoë Keating (Imogen Heap, Amanda Palmer, Tears For Fears).

“The vibe is very different from the other two albums,” says Gordon. “I was hearing a darkness in the material Leo was bringing, and some of the material that I wanted to bring, that I thought just reflected going through 10 more years of life. There are overdubs, but it’s still more like you’re in a cafe or a living room with these two guys. And even when we had drums, we wanted to maintain that feeling.

“I just knew there was a shape and that we were following it,” says Kottke. “We were trying to get to that place that we get to in a little room, just chasing each other. We’ve found that at soundchecks, and at my place, or his place, or some motel room. We wanted to get that late night feel. It’s a more intimate record than the others are, I think there are depths to it.”

Pre-order an exclusive limited edition pressing on clear vinyl with gold and red splatter from Mike’s store or Phish Dry Goods. CD and t-shirts are also available. is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2024  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode